DeSoto County and Mississippi election results

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

SOUTHAVEN, Miss. — DeSoto County Sheriff Bill Rasco won a third term in Tuesday’s vote.

Rasco won 86 percent of the vote, beating out Russell Lynch and James Weifenbach.

When it comes to the superintendent of schools, there will be a runoff to determine the winner.

Cory Uselton won 31 percent of the vote, followed by Jim Ferguson, Dr. Edith Allen Robinson and Jerry Darnell.

Ferguson and Uselton will face off in a runoff.


  • Mississippi Gov. Phil Bryant (R)

Lt. Governor

  • Former State Sen. Tim Johnson (D)
  • Mississippi Lt. Gov. Tate Reeves (R)


  • Stacey Pickering (R)


  • Lynn Fitch (R)

Insurance Commissioner

  • Incumbent Mike Chaney (R)

Transportation Commissioner Northern Republican

  • Mike Tagert

Desoto County Superintendent of Education

  • Runoff between Corey Uselton (R) and Jim Ferguson (R)

District Five Supervisor

  • Runoff between Milton Jones and Michael Lee


Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

Latest News

More News

Watch Latest Videos

IRS announces inflation adjustments for 2021 tax year

Bright Spot: Demoir Book Store

Mississippi voting rights case is argued at US appeals court

Soldier dies during training exercise on Fort Campbell

3 kids shot at Louisville bus stop; more students shot in KS, VA and IL

Unvaccinated Florida COVID patient flown to CT for life-saving treatment after reaching out to 169 hospitals

More News