Delta flight diverted after passenger attempts to breach cockpit

News

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. (WKRN) — A flight from Los Angeles to Nashville was diverted to Albuquerque on Friday afternoon after a passenger attempted to break into the cockpit.

According to Albuquerque International Sunport officials, the passenger attempted to breach the cockpit of Delta Airlines Flight #386 but was unsuccessful.

The plane safely landed in Albuquerque around 2:20 p.m. MT (3:20 p.m. CT) and the passenger was arrested by airport police.

The flight was grounded for several hours in Albuquerque and was not expected to take off until at least 8:15 p.m. MT (9:15 p.m. CT). The flight wasn’t expected to land in Nashville until 12 a.m. Saturday local time.

The Federal Bureau of Investigation was looking into the incident.

Editor’s note: An earlier report incorrectly stated that the plane had already taken off and was expected to land in Nashville at 5:35 p.m. This has been corrected.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

Latest News

More News

Watch Latest Videos

Armyworms destroying lawns and invading homes

Armyworms in Desoto County

Knoxville divers headed to Junior USA Championships

Drag Racing arrest

2 West Memphis cops back on job after harassment allegations

Father of Summer Wells says other children have been removed from family home

More News